Hazeltine to host 2026 Women’s PGA Championship | The Sporting Base

Hazeltine to host 2026 Women’s PGA Championship

October 12, 2023

Hazeltine to host 2026 Women’s PGA Championship

According to Jack Milko of sbnation.com, the 2026 Women’s PGA Championship will take place at the Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota. The course which was designed by Robert Trent Jones of Ince-in-Makerfield, England in 1962, has hosted some significant golf tournaments in the past and will so again.

This will be in fact the second time that Hazeltine will have hosted the Women’s PGA Championship. They previously hosted the event in 2019 when Hannah Green of Perth, Australia became the third Australian female golfer ever to win a major title in women’s golf. She followed Jan Stephenson of Sydney (1981 du Maurier Classic, 1982 LPGA Championship, and the 1983 United States Women’s Open), and Karrie Webb of Ayr (1999 du Maurier Classic, 2000 and 2006 Nabisco Championship, 2000 and 2001 United States Women’s Open, 2001 LPGA Championship, and 2002 Women’s British Open), and preceded Minjee Lee of Perth, who won the 2021 Evian Championship and 2022 United States Women’s Open.

When Green won the 2019 Women’s PGA Championship, she posted a four-round score of -9, and beat South Korea’s Sung-hyun Park by one stroke. Park is a two-time major champion, as she was victorious at the 2017 United States Women’s Open and the 2018 Women’s PGA Championship.

In addition to hosting the 2019 Women’s PGA Championship, Hazeltine two other women’s majors. They were the 1966 and 1977 United States Women’s Open. On the men’s side, Hazeltine has also hosted some memorable events. They include the 1970 United States Open (won by England’s Tony Jacklin), the 1991 United States Open (won by American Payne Stewart), the 2002 PGA Championship (won by American Rich Been) and the 2009 PGA Championship (won by South Korea’s Y.E. Yang). Hazeltine also hosted the 2016 Ryder Cup won by the United States 17-11, and will host the 2029 Ryder Cup. The 2024 Women’s PGA Championship will take place in Seattle, and the 2025 Women’s PGA Championship will take place in Frisco, Texas.

Fill In The Form Below To Receive Our Golf News Straight To Your Email For FREE!


November 28, 2023

Australian golfer John Senden diagnosed with Parkinson's disease

According to the Australian Broadcasting Corporation on Friday, Australian golfer John Senden has been diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease at the age of 52 Senden has reportedly been showing some Read More

November 23, 2023

Paul Azinger not returning to NBC Sports in 2024

According to Alex Miceli of Sports Illustrated on Monday, Paul Azinger will not return to the PGA Tour golf coverage in 2024 The reason is because Azinger refused to take a pay cut Azinger's Read More

November 21, 2023

Ludvig Aberg wins 2023 RSM Championship

It has been quite the golf season for Sweden's Ludvig Aberg The 24-year old from Eslov, helped Europe win the 2023 Ryder Cup in Rome, Italy During this elite team play event, Aberg made Ryder Cup Read More