Dustin Johnson headlines field for controversial LIV Golf Invitational Series in London - The Sporting Base

Dustin Johnson headlines field for controversial LIV Golf Invitational Series in London

June 2, 2022

Dustin Johnson headlines field for controversial LIV Golf Invitational Series in London

A total of 42 players of 48 have been announced for the field for the controversial Saudi-based LIV Golf Invitational Series which starts next weekend in London, England. Those who decide to participate in this event rather than the PGA Tour’s Canadian Open could face “discipline, including potential suspensions and /or lifetime bans” according to PGA Tour Commissioner Jay Monahan in a piece from Mark Schlabach of ESPN.  The PGA Tour aleady stated they would not grant a release to players if they competed in the Saudi-based LIV Golf Invitational Series.

The event next week includes several big names. Let’s take a look at some of the notables who will participate and are susceptible to being suspended by the PGA Tour.

Dustin Johnson–The world number 13 and two-time major champion (2016 U.S. Open and 2020 Masters) initially pledged his allegiance to the PGA Tour in February according to Sky Sports. He has since changed his mind.

Sergio Garcia–The 2017 Masters champion expressed his frustration with a rules official for taking too long to play a ball at the Wells Fargo Championship, and stated, “I can’t wait to leave this tour.”

Lee Westwood–The former World Number One from Worksop, England was one of the first players to commit to the series, and told Sky Sports his desire to play in an elite golf tournament in his home country.

Richard Bland–The 49-year-old from England is participating even though he knows there is a lot of uncertainty.

Talor Gooch–The Oklahoma native just won the RSM Classic in November.

Hudson Swafford–The 34-year-old from Tallahassee, Florida won the American Express Championship (formerly the Bob Hope Classic) earlier this year.

Ian Poulter–The 46 year-old Englishman who was once fifth in the world, is best known for his outstanding performances for Team Europe at the Ryder Cup.

Kevin Na–The 38-year-old American is a five-time PGA Tour champion, who last won in Hawaii in 2021.

Martin Kaymer–The 37-year-old German is a two-time major champion, having won the 2010 PGA Championship and 2014 U.S. Open.

Louis Oosthuizen–The former world number four from South Africa won the 2010 British Open. His consistency over the years has been spectacular, as he has been in the top three in eight other major events.

Branden Grace–Another South African, Grace has been ranked as high as 10th in the world, and has two PGA Tour wins. They came at the 2016 RBC Heritage and the 2021 Puerto Rico Open.

Graeme McDowell–The 42-year-old Northern Irishman won the 2010 U.S. Open, where ironically he delivered a huge come-from-behind-win to beat Johnson.

Charl Schwartzel–The 2011 Masters champ from South Africa was ranked as high as number six.

Matt Jones–The 2021 Honda Classic champion from Sydney is one of four Australians in the field. He is joined by Jediah Morgan, Wade Ormsby and Blake Windred.

Fill In The Form Below To Receive Our Golf News Straight To Your Email For FREE!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.



November 24, 2022

Steve Williams returns to caddie for Adam Scott

Steve Williams of Wellington, New Zealand is returning to his role as a professional caddie According to Adam Woodward of Golfweek on Monday, Williams is reuniting with Adam Scott of Adelaide, Read More

November 24, 2022

Tiger Woods wins golf's most controversial award for second straight year

For the second straight year, Tiger Woods has won the 2022 PGA Tour Player Impact Program Award according to Tyler Conway of Bleacher Report By winning the award, Woods earns a $15 million bonus The Read More

November 22, 2022

Adam Svensson wins 2022 RSM Classic

/For the second time in 2022, a Canadian has won on the PGA Tour One month after MacKenzie Hughes of Dundas, Ontario won the 2022 Sanderson Farms Championship in Jackson, Mississippi, Adam Svensson Read More