NFL announces 2024 Hall of Fame class | The Sporting Base

NFL announces 2024 Hall of Fame class

February 10, 2024

NFL announces 2024 Hall of Fame class

The inductees for the 2024 Pro Football Hall of Fame were announced on Thursday. Let’s take a look at this year’s class.

Dwight Freeney

The defensive end from Hartford, Connecticut played 16 National Football League seasons from 2002 to 2017. Known best for his time with the Indianapolis Colts, Freeney was selected to seven Pro Bowls. In his rookie season of 2002, he led the NFL with nine forced fumbles and 20 tackles for a loss. The NFL sack leader in 2004 with 16, Freeney won a Super Bowl in Indianapolis in 2007. Freeney was a teammate of Peyton Manning in Indianapolis, our fourth best player of all-time. 

Randy Gradishar

The linebacker from Warren, Ohio played a decade with the Denver Broncos from 1974 to 1983, and was selected to the Pro Bowl seven times. In 1978, Gradishar was the Associated Press Defensive Player of the Year after having four interceptions for 19 yards and two fumble recoveries for 30 yards.

Devin Hester

Possibly the best kick returner of all-time, Hester, a native of Riviera Beach, Florida, played 11 NFL seasons from 2006 to 2016, primarily with the Chicago Bears. A four-time Pro Bowler (thrice with Chicago and once with Atlanta), Hester is number one all-time in kickoff/punt returns for a touchdown with 19.

Andre Johnson

This wide receiver from Miami, Florida played 14 seasons in the NFL from 2003 to 2016, primarily with the Houston Texans. He is the Texans all-time leader in receptions (1012), receiving yards (13597), touchdown catches (64), single season receptions (115 in 2008), single season receiving yards (1598 in 2012). A seven-time Pro Bowler, Johnson led the NFL in receiving yards twice (1575 in 2008 and 1569 in 2009).

Steve McMichael

The defensive tackle from Houston, Texas played 15 NFL seasons from 1980 to 1994. Known for his time in Chicago, he was part of the Bears team that dominated defensively in 1985, and clobbered the New England Patriots 46-10 in Super Bowl XX. McMichael was also selected to the Pro Bowls in 1986 and 1987.

Julius Peppers

The nine-time Pro Bowl defensive end played 17 NFL seasons from 2002 to 2018. Primarily a defender with Carolina (2002 to 2009, and 2017 to 2018), he also spent time with Chicago and Green Bay. During his first NFL season of 2002, Peppers was the Defensive Rookie of the Year. He had 36 combined tackles, 12 sacks, 11 tackles for a loss, six pass deflections, five forced fumbles, and one interception for 21 yards. In 2006 with the Panthers, he led the NFL with 18 tackles for a loss. Peppers is the Panthers all-time leader in sacks (97) and forced fumbles (34).

Patrick Willis

The linebacker from Bruceton, Tennessee played eight seasons in the NFL with the San Francisco 49ers from 2007 to 2014. As a rookie in 2007, Williams led the NFL in solo tackles (136), and combined tackles (174), and was named the Defensive Rookie of the Year. Then two years later in 2009, Willis once again led the NFL in combined tackles (152) and solo tackles (114).

Fill In The Form Below To Receive Our NFL News, Previews & Tips For Free!

February 28, 2024

Strus' halfcourt prayer answered as Cavs stun Mavs

A mind-blowing, 58-foot buzzer-beater out of the hands of Max Strus proved the difference as the Cavaliers took down the Dallas Mavericks 121-119 in Cleveland Strus (21 pts, 7/10 3P) almost Read More

FREE: Randwick Tip Sheet & Staking Plan: Saturday 2nd March

Saturday Metropolitan racing in New South Wales heads to Randwick for 10 races to be won and run with the feature race of the day the Group 1 Verry Elleegant Stakes over 1600m Expecting an Read More

February 28, 2024

Trans-Tasman Trophy Preview: Australia, NZ descend upon Wellington for opener

Wellington’s Basin Reserve will play host to the first Test of Australia and New Zealand’s two-Test series for the Trans-Tasman Trophy on Thursday morning (9:00am AEDT) Fresh off a 3-0 Read More